Loading Events

← Back to Events

Fountain Bookstore

+ Google Map
1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US

January 2019

Domestic Thriller Writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis Presents Half of What You Hear

Tuesday, January 29 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

We love a good domestic thriller and this author is writing some of the best stuff out there right now. Bring your book club!!! Praise for Half of What You Hear: “The fast pace and intriguing mystery make this one perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. A compelling look at the power of small-town gossip.” — Kirkus Reviews “Imagine a Liane Moriarty novel served with a tall glass of sweet tea and you’ll have Half of What You Hear.…

Find out more »

February 2019

Tough Times, Happy Endings: Historical Authors in Coversation

Saturday, February 2 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

Can you have happy endings in fiction that take place in eras of despair and conflict? If you have writers with good enough chops, you can! Meet two of them on this Saturday afternoon and bring your questions about writing. Bring your book club. Bring your best reading buddy! Clarissa Harwood holds a PhD in English Literature with a specialization in Nineteenth-Century British Literature. In addition to being a proud member of the Historical Novel Society, Clarissa is a part-time…

Find out more »

In Conversation with Debut Novelist Mesha Maren

Tuesday, February 5 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

Bookseller Andi will be interviewing the author of one of the most talked about titles of the new year. Mesha Maren’s debut novel, Sugar Run, is forthcoming from Algonquin Books in January 2019. Her short stories and essays have appeared in Tin House, Oxford American, Crazyhorse, Southern Cultures, Hobart, Forty Stories: New Writing from Harper Perennial, and elsewhere. She is the recipient of the 2015 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize, a 2014 Elizabeth George Foundation grant, an Appalachian Writing Fellowship from…

Find out more »

TIM DORSEY!!!!!!! Ticketed Event!

Tuesday, February 12 @ 5:45 pm - 7:45 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

THIS IS A TICKETED EVENT!!! All tickets include a copy of No Sunscreen for the Dead and admission to the event. Fountain Bookstore welcomes back one of our absolute favorite guests, Tim Dorsey!!!!!! Tim is funny and sly and his books just crack us up!!! Help us welcome him back to Richmond in a BIG way with a big crowd. Tickets are on sale now! If we sell enough, we will move to a larger venue near the store. Everyone…

Find out more »

History Night with David A. Taylor!!!

Tuesday, February 19 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

We welcome back David A. Taylor to Fountain for a new installation of our lively History Nights programming!! Bring your questions about World War II and national security history. Neat stuff! Cork Wars tells what happened when a 1940 Baltimore factory fire set off events that caught three families up perilously in World War II. The fire consumed a half-million dollars worth of cork, at a time when US industry relied on cork imported from oak forests in Spain and…

Find out more »

March 2019

Free Financial Freedom Talk with Millennial Millionaire Grant Sabatier

Saturday, March 9 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

At Fountain, we pride ourselves on bringing you programming that can improve your lives. We are very proud to present Grant Sabatier for this free talk on how to take charge of your financial life. This programming is for any age. It's never too late or too early to start getting a handle on your relationship with money. Money is unlimited. Time is not. Become financially independent as fast as possible. In 2010, 24-year old Grant Sabatier woke up to…

Find out more »

In Conversation with B.A. Shapiro on The Art of Fiction

Thursday, March 14 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

B.A. Shapiro is a favorite guest at Fountain! We are extremely fond of her. Owner of Fountain, Kelly Justice will be interviewing Shapiro in an informal setting with plenty of time for audience questions and participation. Join us for an evening of conversation about art, art history, and writing. How does one convey the power of visual images in words?What liberties and limitations are present to writers portraying actual historical persons and events?Shapiro's career did a hairpin turn midway through.…

Find out more »

Deanna Raybourn Returns with A Dangerous Collaboration! Pre-Order Special Extra!

Saturday, March 16 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

We are so proud to have been supporting Deanna from her very first book! We welcome back this very special Fountain Family member to celebrate the publication of A Dangerous Collaboration! I absolutely love everything about the Veronica Speedwell series: it's smart, saucy, suspenseful, and nearly perfect in every way. Order from Fountain before 3/12/19 and your copy will come with an exclusive collectible extra Veronica Speedwell journal entry as well as being signed by Deanna! Thank you for your…

Find out more »

One-Hour Dairy-Free Cheese Tasting and Meet-And-Greet with Claudia Lucero

Tuesday, March 19 @ 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

Taste some yummy dairy-free cheeses and meet the author of this super user-friendly cookbook! This event is a meet-and-greet, no formal program where you can taste recipes from the book and ask the author questions in a casual setting. There may also be a full ticketed class later on this date. Still working with possible venues. Stay tuned!!! Finally, anyone embracing a dairy-free lifestyle (including vegan, paleo, or allergen-free) can make and enjoy the savory goodness of cheese—in one hour…

Find out more »

Plan Your Next Southern Road Trip with Caroline Eubanks

Thursday, March 21 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

Fountain helps you plan your summer vacation or a spring getaway weekend with this lively event with travel expert Caroline Eubanks! This Is My South inspires the reader to explore the Southern States––Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia––like never before. No other guide pulls together these states into one book in quite this way with a fresh perspective on can’t-miss landmarks, off the beaten path gems, tours for every interest, unique places to sleep, and classic…

Find out more »
+ Export Events