Loading Events

Upcoming Events › Fountain Bookstore

Events Search and Views Navigation

Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Events Search

January 2019

Domestic Thriller Writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis Presents Half of What You Hear

Tuesday, January 29 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

We love a good domestic thriller and this author is writing some of the best stuff out there right now. Bring your book club!!! Praise for Half of What You Hear: “The fast pace and intriguing mystery make this one perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. A compelling look at the power of small-town gossip.” — Kirkus Reviews “Imagine a Liane Moriarty novel served with a tall glass of sweet tea and you’ll have Half of What You Hear.…

Find out more »

February 2019

Tough Times, Happy Endings: Historical Authors in Coversation

Saturday, February 2 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

Can you have happy endings in fiction that take place in eras of despair and conflict? If you have writers with good enough chops, you can! Meet two of them on this Saturday afternoon and bring your questions about writing. Bring your book club. Bring your best reading buddy! Clarissa Harwood holds a PhD in English Literature with a specialization in Nineteenth-Century British Literature. In addition to being a proud member of the Historical Novel Society, Clarissa is a part-time…

Find out more »

In Conversation with Debut Novelist Mesha Maren

Tuesday, February 5 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

Bookseller Andi will be interviewing the author of one of the most talked about titles of the new year. Mesha Maren’s debut novel, Sugar Run, is forthcoming from Algonquin Books in January 2019. Her short stories and essays have appeared in Tin House, Oxford American, Crazyhorse, Southern Cultures, Hobart, Forty Stories: New Writing from Harper Perennial, and elsewhere. She is the recipient of the 2015 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize, a 2014 Elizabeth George Foundation grant, an Appalachian Writing Fellowship from…

Find out more »

TIM DORSEY!!!!!!! Ticketed Event!

Tuesday, February 12 @ 5:45 pm - 7:45 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

THIS IS A TICKETED EVENT!!! All tickets include a copy of No Sunscreen for the Dead and admission to the event. Fountain Bookstore welcomes back one of our absolute favorite guests, Tim Dorsey!!!!!! Tim is funny and sly and his books just crack us up!!! Help us welcome him back to Richmond in a BIG way with a big crowd. Tickets are on sale now! If we sell enough, we will move to a larger venue near the store. Everyone…

Find out more »

The Handsell Live Comes to Fountain!

Thursday, February 14 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

Join our enthusiastic (and slightly manic) booksellers and our friends at HarperCollins over on Facebook where we'll be talking about our very favorite books right now live! More info soon!

Find out more »

History Night with David A. Taylor!!!

Tuesday, February 19 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

We welcome back David A. Taylor to Fountain for a new installation of our lively History Nights programming!! Bring your questions about World War II and national security history. Neat stuff! Cork Wars tells what happened when a 1940 Baltimore factory fire set off events that caught three families up perilously in World War II. The fire consumed a half-million dollars worth of cork, at a time when US industry relied on cork imported from oak forests in Spain and…

Find out more »

Saké Event at Secco with Expert Jeff Cioletti

Sunday, February 24 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Secco Wine Bar, 325 N Robinson St
Richmond, VA 23220 US
+ Google Map

Tickets are $65 and each includes pairings, saké tastings, and a copy of Saképedia! Jeff's writing is lively and informative and his presentations casual and fun. These tickets are going to go fast! Jeff will be signing copies of his latest book “Saképedia: A Non-Traditional Guide to Japan’s Traditional Beverage,” while discussing the history and production of Sake. Meanwhile, Secco will be serving up various Sake and pairings to help educate your palate. Tickets are $65 per person all inclusive…

Find out more »

March 2019

Ticketed- Learn How To Have a Lifetime of Love with Drs. John & Julie Gottman

Thursday, March 7 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

https://www.fountainbookstore.com/eightdates Join us for an evening of progress with our partners. Your ticket includes a copy of Eight Dates and two seats for a talk about improving our relationships from two of the most respected and beloved experts on the subject. "Whether you are already in a long-term committed relationship or are just starting one, Eight Dates is an essential guide to building and maintaining true and lasting love. Based on decades of scientific studies and clinical wisdom from our…

Find out more »

Free Financial Freedom Talk with Millennial Millionaire Grant Sabatier

Saturday, March 9 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

At Fountain, we pride ourselves on bringing you programming that can improve your lives. We are very proud to present Grant Sabatier for this free talk on how to take charge of your financial life. This programming is for any age. It's never too late or too early to start getting a handle on your relationship with money. Money is unlimited. Time is not. Become financially independent as fast as possible. In 2010, 24-year old Grant Sabatier woke up to…

Find out more »

In Conversation with B.A. Shapiro on The Art of Fiction

Thursday, March 14 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Fountain Bookstore, 1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA US
+ Google Map

B.A. Shapiro is a favorite guest at Fountain! We are extremely fond of her. Owner of Fountain, Kelly Justice will be interviewing Shapiro in an informal setting with plenty of time for audience questions and participation. Join us for an evening of conversation about art, art history, and writing. How does one convey the power of visual images in words?What liberties and limitations are present to writers portraying actual historical persons and events?Shapiro's career did a hairpin turn midway through.…

Find out more »
+ Export Events